Celiac Disease and Gluten-Free Diet

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the ingestion of gluten causes damage to the small intestine and often results in the malabsorption of nutrients.  Consistent, lifelong diet and nutrition therapy, specifically a gluten-free diet, is the only effective known treatment for celiac disease.

Signs & Symptoms

Individuals diagnosed with celiac disease often present with weight loss, chronic diarrhea or constipation, abdominal pain and cramping, gas, abdominal distention, anemia, lethargy, nutritional deficiencies.  Nearly 40% of those with celiac disease, however, don’t have any noticeable symptoms at all or may experience “silent” symptoms such as constipation, gastroesophageal reflux (GERD), osteopenia, and anemia.  Some common deficiencies that appear with celiac disease include anemia, osteoporosis/osteopenia, iron and folate deficiency, vitamin D/calcium deficiency, B vitamin deficiency.

Associated Autoimmune Disorders

Some disorders associated with celiac disease include dermatitis herpetiformis, type-I diabetes mellitus, thyroid disease, liver diseases, and lupus.

What is gluten & where is it found?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats and other products as listed below.



Grains: rice (wild, brown, white, basmati, jasmine, red), risotto, corn, tapioca, chickpea flour, potato/potato flour, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, soba noodles, millet, soy (tofu), sorghum, arrowroot,  (all pastas, flours, breads, baked goods made from above grains are acceptable)Condiments: mustard, liquid aminos (substitute for soy sauce), vinegar (non-malt), herbs, single spices dried or fresh (i.e. Paprika, garlic powder, basil, chili powder etc.) All fresh fruits, vegetables (raw or cooked, with skin) Legumes: black beans, kidney beans, chickpeas, great northern & navy beans, lentils, hummus, edamame Dairy: low-fat plain yogurt, skim or low-fat milk, low-fat cheese, low-fat cottage cheese Meats, Chicken, Fish: all sources of lean-protein including tofu and soy products *avoid things “breaded, battered, fried” Desserts/sweets: gluten-free baked goods; LEDA bars, Ghirardelli chocolate chips, Barbara’s Bakery, Mi-Del, Ener-G, Laura’s WholesomeJunkfood (www.lauraswholesomejunkfood.com), Smart Treat cookies (www.smarttreat.com), Kozy Shack puddings (chocolate, rice, tapioca), Newman’s Own Organics chocolate bars, Rice Dream & Soy Delicious ice creams, Stonyfield Farms Frozen Yogurt Grains: wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, bulgur, farina, kamut, triticale, bran (wheat & oat), faro, semonlina, durum wheat (flours, breads, muffins, English muffins, cookies, cakes, oatmeal etc.) *some oats are acceptable if labeled as “uncontaminated”; be safe and steer clearCommon foods: pizza, pasta, cookies, crackers, doughnuts, ice cream cones, noodles, pretzels (unless made from gluten-free flours)* Condiments: malt products & malt flavoring (made from barley) malt vinegar, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, brown rice syrup (unless “Gluten-free”) Alcohol: malt-based alcohols, beer, hard liquor (vodka, rum, whiskey, bourbon) Processed Foods: processed cheese slices, modified food starch, hydrolyzed plant/vegetable protein, canned soup soups Desserts/sweets: cake icing, cookies, cake flour Items to beware of: (wash hands after use) play dough, paints, crayons, lipstick Meats, Chicken, Fish: seitan (wheat protein), hydrolyzed vegetable protein (eg. HVP)  *avoid “breaded, battered, fried” Questionable foods: sour cream, cottage cheese, seasoning blends, packaged rice and potatoes, carmel coloring
Hidden Sources of Gluten
Breading, coating mixes, breadcrumbs, croutons, Panko, stuffing, thickeners, communion wafers Broth, soup bases, canned soups, marinades, gravies, sauces, bouillon cubes & powders Buttermilk, butter flavoring (Molly McButter, I Can’t Believe it’s Butter Spray) Candy – licorice, some chocolates Processed Foods: imitation bacon and seafood, cold cuts, luncheon meats, hot dogs, processed cheese, frozen meals Desserts/sweets: cake icing, cookies, cake flour Flavored, sweetened rice and soy milks may contain barley or malt flavoring

National Support Organizations & Websites

Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University www.celiacdeseasecenter.columbia.edu Celiac Disease Foundation 818-990-2354 www.celiac.org Gluten Intolerance Group of North America 877-CSA-4CSA www.gluten.net R.O.C.K (Raising Our Celiac Kids) (local chapters across the nation) 858-395-5421 www.celiackids.com National Institute of Health www.niddk.nih.gov/health/digest/pubs/celiac/index.htm CSA/USA Inc. www.csaceliacs.org

Gluten-Free Magazines

www.glutenfreeda.com Living Without Magazine http://www.livingwithout.com/recipes_glutenfreebasics.htm

Finding Gluten-Free Products Online

www.glutino.com www.glutenfree.comwww.glutenfreemall.com www.glutenfreegourmet.com www.wholefoodsmarket.com


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.